- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

...
2002-09-16-10:37 a.m.

I know I don't update much anymore. I'm out there, living my life, and it's going really good. I have nothing to complain about, I've said it probably 10 times in this diary before:

If you're healthy, and you have a roof over your head and clothes on your back and enough to eat, and everyone you know and love has that too, then the rest is just details.

A good friend of mine, someone who I don't get to see as much as I'd like, but a good friend none the less, lost his mother to cancer over the weekend. She was only diagnosed, maybe 2 months before or so, it happened very very quickly.

She was a really great lady, had a great attitude, and a great sense of humor, in the last year I probably spent more time talking to Deck's mom than him. I'd always stop by or call but Deck wouldn't be there, (usually working) but I'd still end up bullshitting with his mom for 20 minutes straight.

I feel like a complete ass for not trying harder to see her in the last few months. I made some half-ased attempts, but I thought I had more time, it never really sank in that it was something that was going to happen so soon. And the worst thing is, nothing I can do can rectify the situation, it's all very final, there is no second chance or anything.

So they're having a service today, and I hope that seeing all of his friends there will in some measure bring some hope and relief to him. Deck is a great guy, and he's had enough hardship in his life, I hate that he's had to go through this. He lost his dad back before I knew him, but it couldn't have been much more than 10 years ago, and now he has to go through this.

I agree with what James said, we all have nothing to worry about, and nothing to complain about, shit could be so much worse.

I have some other things that I'll mention later in the week maybe, but it all seems even more trivial now. See ya.

Prev - Next