- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

I will knock a trust-fund baby out. Try me.
2002-02-15-9:34 a.m.

Three days without updating? There can be no excuse. Except for maybe doing so much that there is no time to write about it. Last night I went to Sarah's because it was valentines day. She was watching her roommates kids so she could go out for valentines day, so we watched disney movies that the girls had already seen a hundred times anyway. Those little girls ar so adorable and really pretty well behaved. I always tell their mom that they are cute and nice, so I don't know why she isn't. We both know I'm only half joking with her too. They're 6 and 4, and the older one spent a good hour showing me her valentines day cards and explaining them to me. The younger one kept running in circles in the living room singing "I'm coming up, so you better get this party started." wearing so many mardi gras beads she kept getting her hands tangled in them. Then the girls went to bed around 9:30 and Sarah and I ...yada yada yada.

That was last night though. I went to Austin after work on wednesday and got back last night around 5. It's really a 3 hour drive, but because I was given out-and-out wrong directions, it was more like 4 and a half. I had a good time though, stayed in Lindsay's dorm and we stayed up talking until 3 a.m. I suprised her with some things about me, and she suprised me with some facts about her. Interesting.

I also opted to not buy a road map, and just ask the lady at the gas station I filled up at the best way to get home. Yeah, not a good idea. There's probably a reason a 40 year old woman works at a gas station for 6 dollars an hour. That reason probably isn't her above-average intelligence and people skills. I also asked some guy who was selling flowers at a stoplight where the highway I wanted was, and he also gave me completely wrong directions. You know, if someone asked me how to get ANYWHERE within like 25 miles of where I live or work, I'm fairly certain I could get them really damn close.

And it's not like I was asking for someplace obscure, I was on the biggest highway in town, asking how to get to the second biggest highway in town, which leads to the interstate. "HELLO you idiot, if someone wanted to leave your shitty town and get to the rest of the outside world, which way would they go?" This is just proof, once again kids, that you can't depend on anyone in life but yourself. Oh and the parking in downtown Austin? There's tons of it, but it's all "no parking". You have to have a permit, and then you can only park in that certain lot, or on that side of that street which your permit permits. Then I realized that logistically, it's impossible to police that many cars in such a huge area (literally 30 blocks with no public parking) so I just parked where it was convenient, and you know what? No one ever noticed.

Sometimes going away is fun, relaxing, and it makes you appreciate other places that are different, although not any better or worse, than where you are from. I've thought this in florida, louisiana, georgia, new york, nebraska, etc... But Austin is a fucking shithole town full of pretentious college kids. And they're not even smart! It takes like a 3 on your SAT to get into UT anyway. I just know none of these kids are going to finish school anyway, and if they do, most of them won't even work in the field they studied for, because there really isn't a market for art-history majors, and business school does not teach you people skills.

Ok, I've vented. I just realize now how much I love Houston and my cool, down to earth friends. I still maintain that Austin is NOT representative of the great state of Texas at all.

Also, on the sad news front, my "uncle" Phil died of a heart attack last night, he was only 51. It's actually aunt Ja's (my mom's sister) husband's brother. So I'm not related to him by blood or anything, but he's been part of the family for years. He was the last family my Uncle Tom had, but Ja says Tom is just like "Oh well, thats that" and won't talk about it. Phil was finally happy though, he just got remarried a little over a year ago to a girl who was younger than his daughters, and they had a baby last year. So he'd finally gotten his life in order and was very happy when he came over to our house this christmas. It's going to be a very sad funeral on monday. But people have to die, and sometimes its people you know. I'm just lucky it wasn't somebody closer to me this time.

All this is making me look forward to my trip down to South Padre Island with my friends that much more. Did I mention that it's even in latitude with Ft. Lauderdale Florida? Right on the southern tip of north america, right on our border with mexico.

Beer, sun, women, sleep. Repeat. As I live and breathe, that is the only true vacation, and it is much needed now.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next