- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

float like a dragonfly, sting like a flea...
2001-11-05-9:02 a.m.

Yeah yeah yeah, so it's Monday. The very word seems evil doesn't it?

But this week looks so promising compared to the last few here at work, and now I have time to reorganize and straighten things out. I'm looking forward to having time to read and draw and to regain my reputation as one of the most together-people at this project.

I saw "The One" this weekend, it was nifty. Good special effects and a decent plot. I did a lot of car-related things, like a cruise on Friday and racing on sat. night on the other side of houston. I came back and forth to houston 4 times this weekend, about a 40 min. trip but I dont mind it.

But my new development? Boxing gloves buddy. Yeah I bought two sets of actual leather everlast sparring gloves. I still need to buy head protectors, but I think I'll just buy some mouth guards for now. I think getting smacked in the head will be good for me at first, I need to work up the balls to not flinch at a hit again. Now I just need to start running and jumping rope, and working the heavy bag again. Of course finding someone to box with may be tricky.

So you may be wondering, "Ronnie, why would you want to risk bodily harm like that?" And I'd say that there is no risk, there is an assurance of bodily harm. You will get hit, and it will hurt, and you will probably have a bruise, or a black eye, or a fat lip, or a cut or something. But while I've done just about every type of exercise, nothing, not even running several miles, will give you the workout that boxing can give you. No matter how pissed off or motivated you may be, you will tire out. But I promise you, seeing a fist screaming for your face will always make you move, even when you dont want to. Even when you're so tired you want to throw up and you're so out of breath your lungs burn.

But next time you can move faster, and breathe better, and the next time, and the next time... I could improve for a long time, I'm far from the level that even an amateur boxer is. And boxing isn't just size, or skill, it's both, and that something I like.

So, anybody want to throw?

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next