- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

we like mysterious swedish guitar playing chicks
2001-11-26-3:26 p.m.

So to just briefly update, I had a good weekend. I went to a few parties, got some work done. Last night I went to Autorama (a HUGE car show/event) and then to a kick ass concert, again at Mary Janes. Matt, Lindsay, and Scott rode with me and we met Dwayne, the 2 Jennifers, Mark, and some other guy there. Mark rode back to Santa Fe with us so we were rolling 5 deep in the bug, but it doesnt bother me since I'm in the drivers seat anyway.

The concert was great, it was the Hives (a great band from Sweden) The lead singer looks like a young young Mick Jagger, same prancing and haircut. They were a lively fun punk band, with a great sense of humor. (Hence the Mick Jagger thing) Several times when he would talk between songs he had people cracking up, and I've never seen that at a concert before. The second band was who we really came to see, Rival Schools (from New York.) They were great, not as much showmanship but still good, they just stuck to the music.

In the middle of the set Scott points on stage and taps Dwayne and me on the shoulder, we look up and the amp rack for the bass has caught on fire, by itself. So some people in front of us grabbed water bottles and threw it on there, and the band kept playing without missing a beat. Rock.

The last band was The International Noise Conspiracy, also from Sweden. They are sorta punk but with some goofy fun shit thrown in, still heavy sometimes. After the concert we hung around for a bit, since its such a small venue we were able to meet with the bands and shit, get some stuff signed, it was pretty nifty. Live music kicks ass. Theres still good music out there kids, it's just not on the radio or MTV eh?

Well slap my ass and call me Susan, it's almost 4 little boy, I'm gone.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next