- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

"Give me an Escalade, a 2-way, and some bling-bling on Ebay"
2002-07-29-3:04 p.m.

Had a good weekend. Drank at the winery in Santa Fe on Friday, got a little drunk. Of Saturday I hung out at Paige's house, making mix cd's, watching movies, fooling around, and napping. Sat. night I went to my friend dwayne's house, for his younger brothers 22nd birthday party. I wasn't in a party mood though, so we didn't stay long.

Yesterday we went to this cool European place down the road from my house, this 2 piece jazz outfit that played at the winery last weekend was there. Jerry and Sco said it was a good show, and that they were real friendly guys. So we went for the 11-3 "jazz brunch" at this restaurant where they've been playing for something like 8 years, and it was really cool. The guys themselves have been playing together for 31 years. The singer looks like a smaller version of Morgan Freeman, and the keyboarder looks like a college history professor.

They played all kinds of jazzish stuff, and took requests, so Jerry requested some Sinatra as usual, I asked for a little Duke Ellington, (a little jazz, a little swing, it's pretty money.) When they took their break, the guys came and sat and rapped with us about music and cool clubs in the area, and turned us on to a few more places to catch interesting music. They were definetly what I would call "cool" guys. It was all in all a nice sunday morning with great german food and a few beers.

After brunch, we went to see the new Austin Powers movie. So with regards to all that, let me say this:

The movie had tons of jokes, and they were either hilarious, or completely devoid of humor. All of the guest appearances were pretty good, except for Britney Spears. Beyonce Knowles is one of the hottest 5 women ever. And the scene with the Japanese twins was so freaking hot, I physically could not sit still. It was lame, but I wasn't really paying attention to the jokes at that particular time.

The jokes shot from social commentary and insightful parody on one hand, to bathroom humor and dick and fart jokes on the other, which I'm not a fan of. It's just not sophisticated humor you see?

But it's definetly worth seeing for the parts that ARE funny, particularly the new rap with Dr. Evil and Mini Me. (see entry title)

So tonight I'm hanging out with Lindsay. Since she works two jobs and is also taking summer courses, there's usually only one weeknight a week where we can hang out.

I'm also very excited about this next weekend, because we're having a video day with the club, trying to get footage for a video one of the guys is doing for APR. I anticipate some reverse donuts, and a high speed e-brake slide or two on my part. And here's to hoping I don't get busted for that stupid warrant I have in Houston!

Prev - Next