- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

you sir, are in need of an ass kicking
2004-06-09-11:22 a.m.

So my mom had a blood clot in her neck which caused two strokes over the weekend. She came very close to dying, or to becoming a vegetable. She had emergency surgery and it's fine, but it really really kicked me in my ass and made me wake up and take notice of a lot of things.

So I started working out again. I'd been meaning to and thinking about it constantly for the last few months. And I'm losing weight pretty quickly. 6 pounds in 7 days. Already up to jogging 2 miles a day. My goal is 5 miles a day by the end of the summer. And to lose 50 pounds as soon as I can. I know that this is no false start and that I've giving 100 percent, so it will happen in due time.

I also gave up TV completely, even erased every season pass I have from my TIVO (except for "Trucks", but hey, 30 minutes of tv a week isn't so bad, and I learn a lot about custom fabrication from that show.) On the whole though, TV is bad for you, and I gave it up for a year once and loved it.

I can never seem to get everything to fall into place at once, but that's life eh? I have my job and finances well in order, I'm exercising and eating great, studying and getting ready to go back to school, and about to leave on a cruise to mexico tomorrow. Then for some reason I have to start freaking out about losing Paige to some imaginary guy she hasn't even met yet.

Oh well. My life rarely goes forward in slow and steady progress, but in big leaps forward broken up by periods of stopping to smell the new roses in the area. I hope I can bring her with me, and I hope I haven't waited too long to leap this time. We've stuck by each other through so much, and I hope I can reward her for her patience.

But if nothing else comes out of this last week, at least I know that I'm back.

To put it bluntly, sometimes life just comes out of nowhere and punches you right in the fucking face. And you have to decide if you're going to cry like a little bitch, or laugh, tell it thank you and ask it what else it's got for ya. Ha ha.

Prev - Next