- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

cruise ship
2004-06-15-7:35 a.m.

So, I just got back from my 4 day cruise to Cozumel, and here are my verdicts:

Cozumel is awesome.

Cruise ships are not.

The last thing I feel like doing when I'm right in the middle of a training regimen is to watch fat miserable bastards waddle themselves from feeding table to feeding table. At least they had fruit and seafood and sushi everyday for me.

There were a few cool people on the boat. An emo girl reading her books the whole time, a group of high school kids on vacation together, a group of middle aged guys and their wives dancing their asses off in the rain while we all made a day of it at the bar, even though it rained as it only can near the tropics. I found the only trick to drinking in the rain is to remember to cover up your drink with your hand, other than that, it's actually quite refreshing. And it was a great experience to share with my extended family, there were 14 of us on the cruise. (Mom couldn't make it, she was still feeling weak from her surgery but told us to go, she's going to take her cruise later in the summer.) My brother and uncle rented Jeeps, I rented a Volkswagen. We cruised the island, and even though they paid 25 bucks more for their rentals, the old bug never leaked in the rain, never died, and handled beautifully on the roads, but their Jeeps weren't nearly as reliable. Proof that simplicity and purity of purpose will outshine flash and flair any day of the week.

I also ran 27 laps the first day, which is 2.7 miles, and 41 laps the second, which is 4.1 miles. After getting home today though I could only muster 3 and a half miles, before my legs burned so much I thought I might fall in the wet red gravel. And it was raining during my run today.

Which is fine by me. I can always outlast the rain.

And I can finally say that I truly have the right goal in sight. To improve every day, and never rest.

I'm back.

Prev - Next