- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

white christmas
2002-12-30-8:51 a.m.

Okay, I typed this up while I was in New York, and I posted it to my car club website, which explains why it will seem a bit out of date. For the record, I am not still in NYC, I'm back at work. (Which is soooo much cooler, let me tell you). I'll update later today or tomorrow with what happened for the rest of the trip and up until now.

As I mentioned a few weeks back, I'm in NYC (Long Island specifically) for christmas. My girlfriend has family here, and we're having a great time. I'm 24 and it's the first time I've really ever seen snow worth a damn.

We've been here since saturday, and today is the first day it's snowed, and it's coming down pretty good. Her uncle has an 8700 square foot house with woods all around it, and it's really beautiful looking out here. Her grandma just snapped a pic of me cooking up the porterhouse steaks on the grill in the snow. Snowman and fights are sure to follow.

We took the train into Manhattan yesterday and spent the day wandering around, eating cheesecake and dinner in little italy, and we're going back tomorrow, so Paige and I can see central park covered in snow, head to the Met. etc...

We're house sitting for a friend of the families, and they stuck me in a basement with a 50 inch wide screen, cable, my own bathroom, and a gym and tanning bed. Not bad at all, I must say. It's going to be hard to go back to the daily grind after eating at all these great restaurants, drinking a few scotches ever day, and playing Vice City all night. As always, I love it up here, and NYC or the california coast are the only places I'd move if I left Texas. I've seen a few Ferrari's, countless Porsches, and her uncle even has an A6 with quattro. There are a lot of great roads up here for driving, even though the transportation system is so good you hardly ever need to. And thankfully her family is as loud mouthed as me, so we get along great.

I'm not trying to rub it in here, seriously, I'm sure a lot of you are having a great time yourselves, and I hope you're having a merry christmas. Now I'm going to eat some steak.

Prev - Next