- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

and its all easier after a few drinks
2001-12-21-11:05 a.m.

I know I've said it before, but I'll say it again.

I am a tremendous fan of life. No, not all the little mundane things, and not just rollercoasters and weekends, parties and awards, but all the bad, tough, scary shit too.

When you're so happy, or hurt, or angry, or scared that the little walls fall away and you interact truthfully. I love that. You don't have these moments everyday, but looking back on my life, they're the things that I remember.

I'd have to relate it to high diving. But not regular high-diving, because where I'm from, there are no olymipic diving pools, and none of those non-springy, concrete diving platforms. There are only tall cliffs and rivers or lakes beneath them. And you don't jump off head first, but even so, if it's tall enough, it's scary as hell looking down it. You really aren't sure that the water is a chlorine infused, 74 degree 30 ft pool, but you know it is probably deep enough. The toughest and scariest part isn't falling, hitting the water, or swimming back to shore though, it's that intial jump. And even if you land wrong and get smacked by the water and red and swallow a little, you don't regret jumping. Still doesn't make it any easier when it gets time to jump.

(Sorry about the general metaphor, just whats on my mind today)

Prev - Next