- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

holy shit.
2001-09-11-1:00 p.m.

If you need something light hearted, read my update from earlier today here.I think it's funny but not appropriate for today.

So I guess at 9 oclock today, like it or not, American went to war. I think it's something that we've been lucky enough to avoid for some time.

As I mentioned before, I went to New York a few months ago, and it's a beautiful city. I took a few pictures of the skyline from the Liberty ferry on the way back from the Statue of Liberty. Several people said they came out just like postcards. And as I look at one of the shots today, I realize that the two dominant features, these two enormous buildings, now lie in rubble on the streets of manhattan. It's just so amazing I keep repeating to myself. I know they wanted to hurt them, but did even these crazy bastards think that they'd bring the motherfuckers down? I caught the second one live as it hit, and I just stood there slackjawed, double checking the corner of the tv where, sure enough, it said "live". I went to the world trade center, and underneath it is a mall, the 1/9 subway connecting manhattan across it's length, around it are shops, deli's offices and PEOPLE, thousands of them. I can't imagine.

They are estimating around 10,000 people died today? What the hell is the use in that? Look I'm all for peaceful solutions and for avoiding violence. This thing could have been avoided had our leadership not been so derilect and greedy. Bush is still an awful president who wasnt really, elected anyway, but historically people rally around a president during times of crisis, and that's only natural I agree. But who will remember that the economy took a dive and he took a month vacation? That he spent the surplus with his tax cut? But I personally say if he can find who did it and put that fuckers head on a stick, that's great, and he's an ok president.

I'm glad to see nearly every country in the world is standing behind us and offering aid. Ever think you'd say this? Sept. 11 2001, a day that will live in infamy. Remember what you're doing to day people, your grandchildren will ask you someday.

From a Yahoo news story"

``Pearl Harbor in 2001,'' was how Germany's Die Welt newspaper described the attacks. ``America will hit back hard.

``War is in sight.''

Who knows? I just want to go home and be with my family right now.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next