- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

watch out, I may fall off this bitch (my high horse)
2002-09-09-8:11 a.m.

I was reading Sara's diary today, and I realized that when it comes to religion, I'm intolerent. Most people are intolerent of religions other than their own, but I'm just intolerent of any religion in general. I don't have a problem with people having philosophies of life of course, as I subscribe to more than a few myself, but it's the dogma and the righteousness that comes with the practice of real relgion that I hate so.

Lets face it: No one with a true passion and desire for understanding the workings of existence is going to remain a Muslim, or Christian, or Jew, or anything, for long.

But I remain, at heart, an optimist. The blight that is religion is fast fading in the developing world. As progress and knowledge and enlightenment grows, these antiquated beliefs that have brought so much pain and suffering on the world are slowly dissolving. Ancinent beliefs rooted in ignorance of physics and hope can not stand up to even casual scrutiny.

Mankind did evolve. And we haven't stopped yet. People like me don't need to hand out pamphlets to random passers by, and try to brainwash people when they are hurt and weak. People are discovering the truth on their own.

Religious beliefs caused the death of thousands of innocents a year ago, the loss of family and friends to 10's of thousands, and scarred the minds of the rest.

Another religious man is about to rush us into war with another country, even when the rest of the world, and most of his country, disagrees.

Yeah. Tell me religion makes the world better. Please. Tell me religion caused the invention of antibiotics, or the telephone, or the automobile. Tell me religion didn't kill or convert the whole country of Mexico. (Yeah, but they're doing so great now aren't they?)

Religion has left the middle east in a shambles for a thousand years, while a country founded on freedom from it has flourished in a few hundred.

We all know that movement is life, and stillness is death. I hope everyone keeps their mind open and alive, that in it dance the thousands of possibilities that lie in every day.

I hope everyone's beliefs are formed by their own experiences, that they are strong based on calculated conviction, not on supernatural fear.

All truths eventually fall. But if you believe in findingthe truth, not a truth, then you never have to be wrong for long.

Prev - Next