- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

A big decision.
2002-09-05-7:58 a.m.

Whoo hoo. Nine days without an entry. That's gotta be some sort of record. I haven't checked, but I bet my favorites are dropping like flies.

The thing is, the more I'm actually doing, the less time and inclination I have to tell about it. Goals and objectives have been falling left and right.

I sold my other car, so hooray for seeing that god-damned thing finally go. I used the money and paid off all my credit cards the very next day. I'm selling my wheels I bought for my bug tomorrow, and I'm trying to find someone to buy my two laptops so I can build myself a desktop for my room, add a printer and scanner and a webcam and all that nice stuff.

Things are still going great with Paige, although this will be the weekend where we don't see each other, and it will be the longest (14 days) I've went without seeing her since we started dating about 4 months ago. I really can't say enough good things about this girl. She is pretty, funny, and intelligent, sure. But she's also unlike most girls in that she's undramatic, straightforward, and confident.

Sorry if that's a bit of a generalization, but the majority (although not all) of the women I know are irrational, dramatic, and full of issues. It's nice to finally be with a girl who I can see as my peer, as a friend, and who is on my level.

In other news, I have an informal interview for a job today. It's with a company I started talking with a little over a year ago. I've already taken their aptitude test for the position, and I scored the second highest ever on it (the person who did better is the guy I'll be directly working for).

It's for a medical equipment company based out of Sweden, and I'd be working at the M.D.Anderson Cancer Center in downtown Houston. The pay would be about a 50 percent jump from what I'm making now, and it's about 20 miles north, instead of 32 miles south of where I live now.

The thing is, other than the distance and the amount of time my current job takes up, I like my current job, and things are only going to get better and better in the next year and onward. If I could talk my boss into letting me work 4 10's, instead of 5 8's, I'd have an extra day off a week, only be here an extra hour every day (no more losing an hour at lunchtime), drive 75 miles less every week, (more time, less gas and wear on my car), and still get all my work done.

But an extra day? That's like 50 percent more time off each week!

I know I'm qualified for this new job, and I know they'll offer me it if I want it. But the thing is, do I?

I don't think I do. More money would be nice, but more time off would be better. And that job would be more stress too. I'm a big fan of not being in a constant state of even mild stress for more than a few hours each day. That shit just can't be good for your heart man.

The job I have now also has enough free time in it that I can do my school work when I go back to school next semester.

I'm still going to meet the guy today and let him give me his spiel. Who knows, maybe they'll say something I like?

I just feel like this could be a turning point in my life. Do I want to do what is expected? Have plenty of money, job security, and fit right in with the mold?

Or do I want to go about things my own way, live my life according to my rules, and actually enjoy it, whatever it brings?

I think my answer is obvious. Too bad for those damn Swedes, they'll have to find someone else.

Prev - Next