- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

hey hey, an update with actual information!
2002-04-30-10:32 a.m.

Christ, my last few entries have blown. blown I tell you.

If my life were a tv show, I don't think it would be doing so well in the ratings this week. I'd carry this analogy further, but Bill and Jonnyseem to have the tv-diaryland refrence market cornered already.

As things stand, I guess the thing to do would be to talk about what I've been up to lately.

First off, this weekend I went to a friends wedding. My brother was in it and another friend of mine was the best man. It was a quick service, light on the preaching, and a great reception, heavy on the drinking. For those that don't know this, weddings are a great place to meet chicks. Sure you can go to bars to meet them, but you don't want to date a girl who hangsout in bars and clubs, you want to meet a down to earth, normal girl, who's suddenly aware of just how single she is. Plus, there's lots of drinking, and you're bound to know someone there who can introduce you and give you all the info on them.

The ceremony itself was in the church right down the street from my house, the church where I basically grew up. I attended catholic school there too, which meant I was forced to attend mass on Monday and Wednesday, over and above the normal Sunday services with my family. I never really needed to see the building again though as 20 years of staring all around it in complete boredom has allowed me to basically memorize every square inch of the place already. I used to respect the place as a kid and think of it as special. Now it's just an amusing place where I see silly people perform bizarre, antiquated rituals like drinking pretend "blood" from a priest in fancy robes and eating "flesh" which is basically just flattened bread out of fancy, gold and jewel encrusted dishes while making special signs with their hands. Christianity, the worlds largest cult. Who says God doesn't have a sense of humor?

At the reception I also ran into this girl who I hadn't seen in a few months. I've known her since high school, and we've been going out about 2 or 3 times a year for a few years. Last time we finally kissed, so you could say it's pretty slow. We hung out and she rode to the liqour store with me to get some more tequila for the margaritas, then by my house to change. I think I was getting signals that she was receptive to us kissing again, but I was pretty drunk so it wouldn't have been a good idea, and I could have been wrong about it entirely. We've made plans to go out to dinner tomorrow night though, which should be fun because she's a really cool girl. She has almost the exact same personality as me though, which is why I think we've never become an item. That and the fact that no girl in her right mind would be my girlfriend.

Yesterday at work was a pain. I knew it was in for an interesting day when my cell phone rang at 6:45 in the morning and they wanted to know when I'd be in. I'll skip the details, just suffice it to say that it was all caused by our favorite arch-enemy here: stupid and inept people who are not qualified for the jobs they hold. The only difference yesterday was, they weren't the people who work here, but a group of teachers having a conference here this week.

After work I headed right over to Jerry's to continue the work in his room. We mounted the two big shelves for his floor speakers, and the stereo now sounds so much better with them placed on the wall. We also did a bunch of other stuff that's hard to explain. Darla drove to Red Cap for me to pick up my super healthy order of a chili-cheese hamburger and french fries. It sounds like a bit much, but considering the work I'd done yesterday and the amount I hadn't eaten, it put me right on track in the calorie department.

Speaking of unhealthy food, it's almost lunchtime for me, so I'm off to see what Susie has for us in the cafeteria today.

Prev - Next