- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

music, no video, and no dancing...
2001-10-23-11:33 a.m.

To be honest, if someone who's Diary I read did a thing on some of their favorite songs, I wouldn't read it. So why should you read this? Because this isn't a bunch of obscure, no talent bands who I listen to to be cool, just because they are different or unheard of. These bands are mostly great, although not radio friendly. These also give you insight into who I really am, if you wanted that too. I made a cd for Christina. and this is my email to her explaining to her what was on it and why, so the grammar sucks and the list isn't really all inclusive of my favorites, but you get the idea.

I thought while I have a few minutes,I wanted to list for you the songs on your cd and why I put them there. Firstly you wanted a fast songs cd, and that is what this is, not all fast but all motivational to me, and for different reasons. There are other songs that motivate me, but I wanted to keep the cd diverse and put only songs I thought you could stand on it. ;-)

So the first song is obvious, it's just a cool scene from Fight Club.

The second song is "Disconnected" by Face to Face. It's a kickass song, I did an entry with the same title as one of my first, months ago.. It's also on the tank girl soudntrack and on an old playstation snowboarding game. He's saying "You don't know what you would give up, no, you don't know what you would give up, you don't know, what you want, it may take you years to find out, you dont know what you need, it's something that may never come to you." Meaning you dont know what you can or will sacrifice to get what you want, or to not get what you want. Good meaning, spelled out for you, not much interpretation needed. Why I like Punk Rock.

The 3rd song is Millencolin, "No Cigar." It's about doing what you want no matter what people think, even your friends. Good line: "And I won't waste, my time fitting in, cause I dont think contrast is a sin." And its the live version which is even faster, more punishing and assulting than the regular version. This song is the penultimate punk song to me, being defiant and energetic, yet purposeful. I get so amped when I hear this song, and I've listened to it every day for the past 8 months I think. Millencolin is one of my all time favorite bands, the name is a play on the word "Melancholy"

The 4th song is AFI (A Fire Inside). They're a band from East Bay in Southern California. They're part of the Hardcore Punk movement. Means they're half punk, half goth sorta. The lyrics of this song are literally a poem, and a great one at that. If you look up no songs other than this one, go to afireinside.net and read the lyrics. Oh the song is called "The Days of the Phoenix". Perfect halloween song.

Song 5 is of course Staind, "Suffocate" This song helped me keep up my hate when I was working out for hours at a time a year or two ago. Simple, but effective for anger.

Song 6 is from the 'wise. Pennywise, you went to their website a few months ago and I remember you liked their lyrics. This the first song by them I heard. "Same Old Story" Sorta obvious, "I'm not cut from the same mold, I dont' read from the same old story." Basically saying "I have a different view on life than you, fuck you I dont give a fuck, I'm right." How can you not love that?

Song 7 Offspring, "The kids aren't allright" This is what happened to all my friends, what about yours? This song will have more meaning the older you get. I laugh when he says "He just plays guitar and smokes a lot of pot." Do these people know my life personally? ;-)

Song 8, ooooooooh. Bad Religion, quickly becoming my favorite band. The song is "American Jesus" talking about how americans and particularly christians are ethnocentric, thinking our way is the only way etc... Bad Religion have so many songs that the world would be better off for hearing.

number 9, Offspring, "staring at the sun" a kick ass fucking song. So fast, and he sings the verse/chorus fast part without a single breath. "Theres more to living than just surviving, maybe I'm not there, but I'm still trying." Probably the best line of any song ever. I get soooo amped up hearing this song I can't sit still. I challenge anyone to find a song with more unbridled energy.

Song 10 is Millencolin again, it's "Penguins and Polarbears" I dont know why the song is called that though. It's the live version and to me, musically, this is the perfect punk song. The meaning isn't as important as some of the other songs, it's mostly just that fast guitar song and his singing, and the way the music rides on their backs, giving theguitar and his voice a mountain to stand on. I smile and almost have to jump up and down when I hear this song. If I make a movie some day this will have to be in it. Such a sunny day song.

Song 11 is my favorite Deftones song, "Be Quiet and Drive." When it stops and Chino takes the deep breath at the beginning, I get shivers. To me, this song rides up and down like a rowboat on an ocean, and it's every bit as scary and exciting and furious.

Once again, back to Millencolin for song 12. The song is "Twenty Two" It's about staying motivated, and seeing someone for the first time for a year. Would you have much to report? Wouldn't you wish you did? Nice head bobbing song to me, but still fast and energetic as hell.

Ooooh again. Song 13, Pennywise "Fuck Authority." This song is from their new album, and if we weren't in the south we may have heard it on the radio a few weeks ago, had it not been censored off. It's about the corruption in government, how the abuse and misuse of authority causes problems. Even like sept.11th. Reminding us that while most of the problems in our life are our own fault, plenty of people fuck us up everyday, and we need to do something about it. The song says it better than I can though. I bought this cd in NYC and listened to it as I walked around the city, probably made me look angry enough, maybe thats why no one ever hassled me, even at night.

Song 14, Vision "Close Minded" its just about people giving him a hard time for listening to punk so much. He basically says "Yeah, I'm close minded, I dont like anyting else, so fuck off" Only slightly more eloquently. Its not much, but its a fun sounding little song to me.

Track 15 is just stupid, its Slipknot "wait and bleed" real simple, but a nice mood song, mostly just angry, I used it when lifting really heavy weights when I already hurt from the day before. Not much to it though.

Song 16, Deftones, "Shove it" just a good Deftone song, just for it's mood really, pretty simple too.

Track 17,I love, and so does everyone who's heard it. It's Bad Religion, "Infected" Kinda a wierd title for a love song eh? "I wanna bathe you, in holy water, I wanna kill you, upon the altar." Its a song we used to just put on repeat, real melodic in its own way, surely catchy, one of my favorite 10 songs ever maybe.

song 18 IS my favorite song ever, Offspring, "Self Esteem", and it should be self-explanatory.

For song 19, we have The Refused, "The New Beat" This band is from sweden I believe, or some scandanavian country. They were way ahead of their time, thats all I can say about this song, you wont hear much like it unless they copied it. Some of the guys started a new band but its not as heavy. Best line? "CAN I SCREAM?" (first line of the song)

Song 20, James made me put on here. Its ok, Blink got a little top 40 for me, but they dont take shit too seriously and I like that. Songs about girls hurting you are both good and bad I guess.

And finally 21, as we wind it down, is "Bleeding Me" by Metallica. We both like the song and I thought it would be cool to finish your cd since you said it motivated you.

So thats it, hope you give it at least one listen where you can pay attention, I really think theses songs mean a lot. There are others I like as much, but for whatever reason these found their way here. See ya,

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next