- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

I never want to say my best days are behind me
2001-10-24-8:44 a.m.

Well FUCK ME little boy, I say I'm through updating for a while, and then I go and update for 2 days in a row. Oh well, it's my diary I can do what I want.

So last night I went to see New End Original at Mary Jane's in Houston. It's a band with members who are all from other bands, sorta a great side project. The lead singer, Jonah, was the singer for Far before they broke up. And Far is a bad ass band, you'll see members of the Deftones wearing their shirts all the time. Anyway I'd never heard their stuff before, but on the way there Matt played their cd for me, and I loved it from the get-go. These guys are great, I couldn't believe they aren't playing at some huge venue, instead of this small little club that held probably 150 people or so.

I would try to explaing the concert, but it would sound cliche, and it won't work to convey the performance they put on, so I won't try. But I will say that I've seen a lot of bands, Nirvana, Metallica, Korn when they couldn't sell out a small club in houston, 311, the offspring, Garbage, and a hundred more, and tons of festivals and showcases, and these guys were different than all of them. Only 311 seemed as "real" on stage. The small venue means a lot in a show too as you get more of the experience and you're literally right there close. Anyway so it was a bad ass concert, so much enegy, and Jonah is a great guy, very very honest, really nice, and probably THE most sincere person I've ever met.

After the concert Matt and I went to have him sign their new cd's, and he jumps off the stage and onto Matt in a hug/tackle. He said he was glad we came and we said we were glad he put on the show. We talked for a bit and he signed our shit, and that was it. Outside Matt talked to the guitar player by their van for about 15 minutes while my friend Dwayne and Jennifer and I talked for a while, then I went home, and got about 4 hours of sleep before coming here, but it was so worth it.

So I'm physically tired, but emotionally energized. And The International Noise Conspiracy and Rival schools plays there next weekend, so I'll catch that too.

HA!

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next