- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

oil rigs, rednecks and I cant get no chicks
2001-10-07-9:44 p.m.

They say one of the toughtest things about writing is finding a place to start. My weekend has been so hard to explain, I don't know where to start. I did a lot, but not much constructive, but oh well.

Chucks friend Desmond who he met on our trip to Manhattan flew in friday night. So we spent the whole weekend doing tourist type stuff, but it was a lot of fun. We went to my work to see the rainforest and the aquarium pyramid, then around Galveston to the Strand district, then to my house, then to a local pub for drinks and food, then to play laser tag. After that they came back to houston to go to Jillians and I went to a friends party.

The party wasn't all that great but after that a few of us went to another friends house to chill and talk, and that was a lot of fun. I feel I should also mention that I was drinking last night, which is something I haven't done in months. No, I'm not back to partying but I just wanted to. I didn't stop because I think it's bad, but because it really just didn't do anything for me. Theres an oil rig behind Brookes house where we were, so it was sorta distracting at 2 a.m. to see this huge loud well lit tower in the next pasture.

And anyone who knows me knows that I can't just sit and drink, I always get into some shit, get too restless or whatever, so I suggested it would be a good idea if we took some beer and brought it to the guys on the rig. So the 8 or so of us head for the rig, and about half wuss out when it comes time to jump the fence, but we went right in, and as we slowly walked closer I was sure someone would yell for us to leave or an alarm would go up, but the guys were so busy up on the rig they didnt give us a second glance.

Probably happens all the time. "Damn Jim, drunk fucking rednecks again." "Yeah, well make sure they don't get too close or we'll have to run 'em off."

The thing was so huge it was amazing, the hook and pulley for it was at least the size of two suburbans, literally. And it's solid steel and40 foot in the air.

Over the weekend I got genuine attention from different girls. And thats what I want of course, but I just defeat myself right away and say "What's the point, it won't work out anyway?" But I'm working on that.

And right now I'm working on leaving, because people are here and we're going out to eat. If I went left for home right now I'd get home in 40 minutes and get 7 hours of sleep. But I'm going the other way to go out to eat. Yeah little boy, you don't need no sleep, yeah.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next