- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

the days of the phoenix
2001-07-27-8:25 a.m.

"I remember when, I was told of story of crushed velvet, candle wax, and dried up flowers. "

I have a habit of inserting lyrics into my entries, because what I'm listening to is reflective of my mood. Good moods beget good music, and good music puts you in a better mood, its sorta cylical. The above song is Days of the Phoenix by AFI. It's sorta poetic lyrically, but mean musically. Can't go wrong there.

I was reading my friend Jerrys diary just now,(Majnoon.diaryland.com) (Still can't make a link) and he's mentioning once again the crap town we're from. We're friends and from the same town, and Christina (and.diaryland.com) is another friend of mine, who also lives in a small town, although she lives in a worse and smaller town, in Louisiana. So for a good picture of how you can be better than the town you live in, how this sort of thing shapes you, I'd suggest reading our three diaries. Actually, fuck, I'm gonna start a "small town" webring on diaryland. Have to do it today or I never will.

And you know what? I'm suprised at how many people read my diary, I'd thought I knew everyone who did, but I got all sorta emails and guestbook responses to my last question. I mean I want people to read it, but it's not like I write FOR anyone, it's mostly just for me, so it's cool that people do like it.

Theres a song called "Sidekick" by Rancid:

"I had a dream I was a vigilante sidekick. My name is Tim, I'm a lesser known character." This song's about helping out, giving to charities, working at a soup kitchen, etc... By doing this, he's a modern day superhero. But he's not well known like a superhero, he's lesser known. You'd be suprised how you can do this in your everyday life, even if it's not as obvious as figthing a bad guy or even feeding the hungry, you just have to do something for someone that doesn't benefit you in any way, but helps them out.

I'm doing more than one entry today, because I have a lot to say, and I hate reading long diary entries.

And I titled this "Days of the Phoenix" because I've changed in the last week, so thats what this has been, I've went through some things, and came out better.

Prev - Next