- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

rant on popular culture
2002-08-02-8:18 a.m.

On the message board for my car club, a guy posted a thread today about how annoying this old navy commercial about sweaters or something was. It made me think about something:

I remembered how annoying old navy commercials were, and how they played them OVER and OVER again. Then I realized I had no idea what he was talking about. Why?

Because I have no TV, it kicks so much ass! HAHAHAHAHA!

(Actually, I have a TV, but it's only hooked up to my ps2 and vcr. no cable, no satellite, all I can get is the mexican channels and PBS. So I can see really hot chicks in sequined evening gowns bouncing around for no apparent reason, and Nova. Both of which are interesting, but not enough to make me sit still for long.)

So it's watch movies or play a game, but that's it. I rarely ever listen to anything but cd's in my car. I am so out of touch with pop culture it's great! And I'm not saying this just to sound cool, I mean I really think it's all crap. The other day somebody was suprised that I didn't know what "Big Brother" was. They said, "You know, it's that show where people are stuck inside a house, and they tape them, and they kick people off." And I'm just beaming and happy and say "NO! But it sounds awful!"

Consuming TV and Radio is just like drinking soft drinks. If you consume them every day, you get used to them, and they're really not to much, even though you know it's bad for you and really has no redeeming qualities.

But once you stop drinking cokes for a while, you get used to it, and you don't really miss it. And if you try to drink one again, it's too sweet and gritty. TV and Radio is the same, it looks ridiculous to me after about 6 months of not watching it, and when I see it I can't believe that people put up with that crap, and that it passes as entertainment. It's all just so ridiculous looking to me.

(The Simpsons and Letterman are excused, although I still have better things to do)

And as for the radio? All houston radio is owned by one company anyway (except for 104, some guy in new england owns it and it's his only station, he just lets them run with it.) I don't listen to the radio too often, unless I want to hear Nelly or Creed, and I think it's some sort of law that you have to have each of them playing on at least ONE station at any given time. And you know what? I bet I know more about new music than at least 75 percent of people out there. I'm always showing people new bands, and they're like "This is great, I've never heard this on the radio." And I say "Because they haven't figured out it will sell yet, so enjoy it now, before they put it in a car commercial eh?"

ARRRRGH! I feel like one of those crazy guys on the corner with a sign chanting "The end of the world is coming. The end of the world is coming." It seems a little cliche. But then I realize, I've never actually SEEN one of those people at all. Only on TV!!!"

I thought I should mention, it's not that I don't listen to a lot of music, I do, on my computer, at work, or in my car. And it's not like I don't spend time sitting around either, I rent 2 or 3 movies a week, and I try to go to the movies once a week.

Although I still haven't seen the new Star Wars. I still haven't finished watching Titanic, and I don't want to, it was trite and formulaic and predictable. I walked out after 3 or 4 hours or whatever, when they still hadn't offed that DiCaprio gimp. I just kept thinking, "HIT SOMETHING ALREADY."

I've never seen Dirty Dancing, or any Kevin Costner movies. (He builds a baseball field in the middle of some corn and the spirits of the all american baseball greats come back? WTF?) Bull Durham? For Love of the Game? Baseball is fucking boring enough, you expect people to watch a movie with a guy PRETENDING to be a guy who plays baseball?

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next