- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

readjusting again
2001-06-26-11:04 a.m.

So it's Tuesday, but it's like Monday for me because it's my first day back at work. I have soooo much work lined up, I'm just going to think of it in terms of one thing at a time. But before I get started I want to do a little rambling, and sort of mentally connect the last week with my returning to my "normal" life.

I have a lot to say about new york, and it's all still coming to me as I reflect upon everything. The trip itself is a lot more than just times square and greenwich village and soho and harlem and the subway and alleys and the statue of liberty. One of the most significant things about a trip of that nature is the distance. I leave my friends, my family, and my entire world, and there I am, alone in this sea of people and different things. It's given me a different perspective on things, on how I really do like where I'm from. Not because of what is here, but because of who is here.

Sure, I could move to New York and I'm sure I'd make friends, I'd meet people, I'd do cooler things than I can do here. But the people I know here ARE me. I know that sounds irrational, but I'm trying to say something about the nature of relationships here. I don't think many people are going to tell me I don't think independently, because I'm a pretty unique guy. I don't care what people think, and I'm not concerned with being cool or likeable or anything, I'm just honest and myself. Who "I" am though has a lot to do with other people. A lot of our values and opinions feed off of the people we associate with. We learn from each other, we imitate each other when we like something the other is doing, we laugh at each other, we fight with each other.

When people in New York would ask me what my hometown is like, and how it compares to the city, I had a hard time explaining to them that it's not better or worse, just different. The people are what makes someplace home. I have some great friends, and family, and part of who I am is a reflection of those people. James, Deck, Matt, Chuck, Christina, my mom, sister, and two brothers, everyone, they all help make me who I am, so I want to thank you.

So yeah, I'm ready to be back. I've missed people. And right now just returning to my life is a big thing on my mind right now, so I can't think about what happened last week clearly yet. I learned sooooo much on this trip, I had no idea what I was in for. Seeing other ways of life has taught me a lot, which I hope to apply.

Damnit I had fun! Once again I've affirmed that you can never push yourself too hard, try something too different, or have a good reason not to at least TRY.

As much as I hate to say it, Back to work for me. I'll be posting pretty often today and the next few days, I'm not going to do things in chronological order, but in their order of importance in my mind. I couldn't remember the order if I tried anyway.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next