- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

newyork
2001-06-21-11:49 p.m.

Well, here the fuck I am. In new york. In greenwich village no less, on the outskirts of NYU, and over 100 blocks from harlem where I'm staying. I paid 2 bucks to use the internet for 15 minutes. The connection in the apt. i'm staying at is down, working on that being fixed with a new mac this sat. for joann.

Well, NYC is sorta what I imagined, and sorta not. It's as fun as I imagined, but different. Times square is bigger, flashier, and more interesting than what I thought. The subway is my best friend. I have a week long pass and it takes you anywhere. The subway is the best people watching. I haven't digested all I've seen here, but I've done a lot. I ran 3 miles in central park today, saw the New York stock exchange and wall street, greenwich village, and so much else. When I'm not limited to such a short timeframe I'll mention more. I only wish my friends were here to see this with me. I think a place like this scares my small town friends, or the ones who it doesn't just can't make a trip like this. (I.E., broke or no time). I'd suggest that everyone sees this city before they die. And I still want to see california soon too.

You know, new york isn't just one city, it's all about the neighborhoods. I'm staying in Harlem, like I said, which is at the north of manhattan island. 725 riverside drive (by the hudson river) at the corner of 150th st. Harlem is a conflagration of shops, liqour stores, cheap clothing, hair studios and laundromats, and people smoking weed and drinking on the sidewalk. Not a single person has fucked with me, but I'm also 6 foot 3 and pretty smart, so that helps. I keep fucking up on the subway and ending up in the bronx or long island. It's sad when the subway looks safe compared to the street you have to cross. I've got more to say, perhaps more eloquently later, but I have to go.

See ya!

Prev - Next