- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

Au revoir, les enfants. (later, kids)
2002-07-12-8:25 a.m.

I am really itching to redesign this page. I just haven't had the time lately.

So last night, Lindsay and I went to a double feature at the Angelika downtown. It was "Italian for Beginners", which was a good movie, but not something I would recommend for people who aren't fans of independent film.

The second film was "Amelie", which I hadn't seen yet. I still haven't seen the new Star Wars movie yet either, but I felt like a loser for not seeing "Amelie" yet, and cooler for not seeing "Star Wars" yet. It just doesn't look like it's worth a damn, and no one who has seen it has said it is anyway. So, as for "Amelie" I really enjoyed it, it was funny, original, and even though it was french, it wasn't annoyingly so. It felt like a big budget movie, had great cinematography, lots of neat little camera tricks, and had lots of great jokes and really very colorful people and characters in it.

It didn't harp on any one thing for long, or milk any jokes, instead really leaving you wanting just a little more of each. I would definetly recommend it to anyone, particularly those people who don't usually watch foreign films, because it would be a good education in why they exist, and they're great for highlighting just how watered down and intentionally palatable typical hollywood films are.

Plus, the chick that played Amelie was hot.

In other news, it's Friday. Hooray for all that. I've got big plans for this weekend, but I don't want to say them outloud, so as to jinx them.

Prev - Next