- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

10 inspirational people
2001-12-13-1:39 p.m.

You know, now that I think about it, my entries just aren't as charming as Bill's or Kat's.

But upon further examination, I realize that I may not be as charming as Bill or Kat. Oh well. You should read their diaries though.

So I'm still in this goofy "Try this, try that" stage, not really down or anything, just sorta figuratively pacing, flipping my keys in my hand like I always do when I can't decide where I want to go, anxious but unsure. Tonight I go to see Jello Biafra do a spoken word performance at Numbers in Houston. For those of you who don't know who he is, Jello is the ex-lead singer of the Dead Kennedys. For those of you who haven't heard of the Dead Kennedys, you are hopeless. Jello did the "disclaimer" at the beginning of the Offsprings "Smash" album, which is my favorite album or all time really.

Anyway, I've heard some of his spoken word stuff before, and he's an intelligent guy, so he'll probably just be preaching to the choir, so to speak, with regards to me and most of the people there, but it should be reaffirming and interesting at least. There were far too many commas for a former english major in that last sentence weren't there?

Here's a peach of an idea, a top 10 list or two. They seem to be the cool thing with the kids today. Since I'm seeing the Jello Biafra thing tonight, I think I'll do:

10 famous people who motivate/inspire me, in no particular order. Some of them may be cliche, but if someone is really exceptional, it will be universally recognized.

1) Henry Rollins: Intensity, inner strength, sensitivity, honesty to the point that it hurts him.

2) Jesus: No posessions, share, do unto others, forgiveness, patience, water into wine a cool party trick. In a few thousand years, society will realize this is the way to be, and we'll all finally be happy. Ok, maybe a million years, but someday.

3) Socrates: Wise enough to know that he knows nothing, sort of a catch 22. By no means a perfect guy though.

4) Thoreau: Wise enough to realize and articulate the beauty of simple things, to feel happiness, if I had a religion, this would be it.

5) Michelangelo: The most classic, talented, romantic artist. Very passionate person. Probably gay, but I'm cool with that.

6) Walt Whitman: The only poet I can stomach, he captured Thoreau's idea of Transcendentalism in words.

7) Dexter Holland: Lead singer of The Offspring, who's music introduced me to Punk, discontent with the status quo, and the idea to find it all humorous.

8) Jonah (from Far): He lives what he preaches. Great musician, but he truly cares about music and people. He's without walls, he's like a walking exposed nerve.

9) Einstein/Hawking: Both unconventional, ahead of their time, they thought outside of the lines perhaps more than anyone else in history. It took me 3 months of trying to truly understand WHY E=mc2. Shows how much of a nerd I am.

10) Bruce Lee: Physical perfection, unfortunately typecast in some poorly executed movies, but a great philospher and author, mature for his young age, and I truly believe he was or would have been the greatest fighter of all time.

There ya go. There are more, but these seemed the most interesting.

Prev - Next