- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

6 nights away, good to be home
2004-07-19-10:35 p.m.

Man I've been busy. But I'm happy when I'm busy, so that's good.

Last night was the first time in days that I actually slept in my own bed. Monday morning I left for Minneapolis/St Paul for work to install some equipment in a new hospital OR. The actual job was about an hour west of St Paul, in a little little little town named Monticello. Offically the most boring town I've had to go to yet. They didn't even have a wal-mart. That's pretty bad.

We worked late and finished way ahead of schedule, so I only stayed there for 2 nights, then spent a night in St Paul because I couldn't get a flight out. So I had to rent another car, find a new hotel room etc.

It did give me a chance to go to the "Mall of America" in Minneapolis, which is the biggest mall in the world, and it was actually quite impressive. There's a whole freaking amusement park inside the middle of it, with rollerrcoasters, a ferris wheel, and all kinds of restaurants and carnival rides. I found all kinds of cool shit, and a bunch of gifts for Paige, a lot of books for myself etc.. I also raced on their huge 24 car nascar simulator, came in 8th the first time, and of course took the checkered flag on the second race by a hefty margin. Scored right up there with the regulars, which is no suprise, since I drive like hell in the real world all the time.

Thursday I woke up at 4 am for a 5:30 am flight, and as soon as I got into town my sister picked me up, we stopped by my apartment so I could get my swimming trunks, and we went straight to the beachhouse my mom, brother and aunt had rented for the week down in Galveston. It was hot as hell, so mostly all I did was eat, drink, smoke weed with my cousins, and we went to go see "Anchorman" which would have been funny even if we weren't stoned. We also saw "I, Robot" which was decent, but nothing really impressive.

I went running on the seawall saturday evening when I left. I did 4 miles at a pretty decent clip. It was nice to run next to the ocean and the breeze and all that. Too bad it's too far away for me to go there regularly.

Saturday night I went to a party at Jerry's house, we had a blast, smoking, drinking, shooting off fireworks, shooting the flamethrower, and Sco taught Ronnie Decker how to spit fire with lamp oil.

We ended up eating at Busy Bee (a horrible local 24 hour cafe) at 5 am, and I ended up crashing on the recliner at Jerry's house.

Sunday I woke up after 4 or 5 hours sleep, still a little buzzed, and went to my mom's house to wash clothes and wash and detail my truck. I ended up getting more sun doing that than I did in 3 days at the beach.

And today was back to work again, and I finally made it back to the gym, I hadn't lifted weights in a week and half because of all the work and travel.

I also finally got the final paperwork for my transfer back to the local branch last wednesday, so no more crappy travel for me. Except for a trip back to New York for a month of training, probably in October. But after that I'm set forever, or at least as long as I want the job, working out of my house and setting my own schedule most of the time. And getting them to pay for me to finish college so I can make some big money in the next few years, and go into business for myself.

And Paige will be here on Friday, so I want to have everything ready for her and all my shit taken care of so I can just enjoy the 2 days she's here to the fullest.

At any rate, I'm off to finish my math homework. I've been teaching myself algebra (with a lot of help from my girl), planning on taking a credit by exam for it next semester. whoo hoo. sleep is over rated anyway.

Prev - Next