- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

affirmative argument
2003-06-09-6:52 p.m.

Same shit, different day. You don't want to hear about all that.

On the message boards for my car club, we're having a discussion about affirmative action. (We're more of a big group of friends than a VW club, but that's still technically the intent of the whole thing).

Someone started the discussion and said their piece, and others replied, the usual black vs. white, merit vs. "equality", slavery bit, the whole nine yards.

I said this:

"If the question is about affirmative action literally, then the answer is no, I'm not for it.

The intent is noble, but the execution is flawed.

If the question is do I think the playing field is even CLOSE to level, the answer is no.

And I do think we should try to do things to fix that.

But I think the problem with the playing field has a whole lot more to do with economic status, than it does race. And for the record, I am a white male, from a middle class family.

The inequality of opportunity begins long before you go in for that job interview though. Nobody can sit here and tell me that there isn't a HUGE difference between schools in different districts. To say nothing of the ability to go to an expensive school, without having to work while you do so, or worry about anything but your education.

It just so happens, that black, hispanic, etc... (they're not really *minorites* anymore) fall into that lower income bracket. Some people think it's because they're lazy or stupid. I tend to think it's because they don't have nearly as much opportunity, or the knowledge of the importance of the few they do have.

Anybody who thinks where you end up has more to do with how hard you work, vs. where you start and how much luck you have, has probably started out well or been lucky. (and for what it's worth, I've worked hard, and been lucky)

Whoop Whoop. Flame away."

Does anyone here have an opinion on this? Write it my guestbook, your own diary, or email me. I think it's an interesting discussion topic. Edit: Quote from Travis in guestbook: "You know I've never seen any black or mexican hockey players! I wonder why that is? ------>: Travis No shit huh? Good point. Not a lot of ice rinks in the barrio and the ghetto huh? Of course there aren't many golf courses around there either, but some durn negro managed to sneak one of his kids out there and he practiced plenty, and look at all the trouble that caused!

Prev - Next