- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

oh. Damn. What was I saying again? It doesn't matter.
2003-06-20-7:33 p.m.

Last saturday at the last minute I found out I had to fly to New York for training on our new equipment. That was fun.

Oh no wait, it fucking sucked ass.

So yeah, there's that.

But I'm hanging in there and doing very well. I've got these people mastered, and the work too. But we all know it's more about how people percieve you than how well you do your job. Such a joke. Oh well I'll take your money.

My flight on thursday night was fun too. 3 delays in rochester meant getting juiced at the airport bar and reading my new book, marveling at how inane and sad the average person really is. Yeah, I'm in their world now, but I'm beyond convinced that I am not now, and will never be, one of them.

2 more delays in atlanta meant that I fell asleep waiting at the gate and somehow magically woke up in time to jump on the plane at the last minute.

The lady at the travel office is always so pleased by the fact that I'm actually polite and thankful that she's doing her job, she always puts me in first class when I come in or call for a change of flight plans. Which meant that I sat next to a beautiful 55 year old woman, a grandma no less. No joke. And she was a vp and managing partner in a surgical consulting company that she had helped start.

We talked frankly, as only complete strangers are apt to. Her father was a coal miner and her parents never really learned to read or write. Now she has a G500 Mercedes SUV, a 2 year old golden retriever, and a guy half her age who found it amusing and reassuring that he was attracted to a female older than 20. Phew.

You know, Paige is going to read this sooner or later, and that's going ot cause problems. Or it won't, because I mentioned it in advance. So it will cause problems that she might try to not bring up. But I love her, really, so that's okay.

Has anyone else seen the preview for the Comedy Central show "I'm with Busey?"

Fuck me I hate TV. Other than Comedy Central. Which I didn't have at my hotel this week. So I walked to Blockbuster every day and rented movies like "SNL: Best of Chris Rock" and "Comedian" the documentary about Jerry Seinfeld. I liked that one a lot.

So I missed the premiere of "I'm With Busey", but the show just looks strange and real enough to be hilarious. It might not be , but I think it will be.

So it's 8 on friday, and since I didn't land until almost 2 am last night and I woke up at 6 to go to my branch meeting at the hilton, and I had such an exhausting week, I have a horrible headache. But I drank an entire bottle of wine and took two Advil, so I'm feeling better already.

And I'm doing awesome at the whole business thing. I'm positive I'll be getting a raise at six months. By now I'm confident that this job will just be another stepping stone. So for now I'm just saving up money, and looking forward to doing things my own way and proving everyone wrong and about a million other things I've been wanting to do.

I've still got a LOT to learn though, don't get me wrong. I need to contain and redirect my energy at times, or really most of the time. Hard work is important, but doing the right thing at the right time is far more critical.

I have to remember that when I get right down to it, I really know nothing. I know that far from knowing all the answers, I barely even know the right questions.

Seriously, I'm not blowing smoke up your ass, I really believe that.

Oh, and Tea, I'm definetly going to the Ren Fest this year. And I'll be bringing tons of camping gear, my drum, and my annoying personality, and I'll meet you on the stage in the middle of the night.

I'll understand if everyone de-lists me after an entry like this. ;-)

Prev - Next