- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

being the change
2004-11-04-5:24 p.m.

Election results: In
My faith in humanity: Shaken.

Still stuck in New York. Paige is coming up tonight and staying for the weekend. We're going to niagara falls and into canada, and we've been joking that we should check out apartments while we're there.

It's already ridiculously cold here. As cold as it gets in the dead of winter down in Houston.

I found myself daydreaming of being home again today, only this time I wasn't even dreaming of being in my favorite restaurant, but of lame places like the dentist office, or the post office, or being stuck in traffic. At least I'd be in my truck with my stereo and music.

It's not all bad though. I've been running and lifting weights regularly. Ran 5 miles non stop three days ago.

This place isn't horrible, I've been to worse parts of the U.S. But it's just the same old shit, Target, Chili's, Best Buy, the mall, movie theaters with the same 8 movies wherever I look. It's just suburban sprawl, not many unique or out of the way establishments.

The countryside is nice, beautiful in some parts, so I drive around a lot, listening to music (decent radio stations here, which is more than I can say for Houston), and staying productive. Cooking my own meals because I have the time and it's healthier and cheaper. Although I'd love to get decent mexican or vietnamese food.

I really feel that I have a renewed focus and sense of purpose. The classes aren't challenging at all, I'm catching on quicker than the other new people, and I'll have no problem doing this when I get back.

But it makes this job even more of a stepping stone for me. I'm doing at 26 what most of these people are doing at 40 something. It's easy to see why though.

They're nice people, but at the end of the day, all they do is sit and drink the free beer at the hotel, eat whatever crappy food they serve, and fall asleep watching tv.

Only one guy (the other guy from Texas oddly enough) has any interest in even exploring the center of the town, or the countryside around us, or of doing anything at all in their free time to improve their lives or situation.

But I guess that's what you do when you're happy with your situation. They all make enough money to support their families (one guy has 5 kids) and they get to have their company vehicles and their beer, and maybe put away something for retirement.

I don't know, I could never settle for that. I'm no bustling entrepreneur, but I don't think anyone should sit on their laurels for long.

Anyway, enough contemplation, it's time to get up and do something. This shameful election, the blissful and unapolegetic ignorance of so many people, it's just fueling my ambition that much more, and making me appreciate the people I have in my life all the more.

And although I kid of running away, I like my position, and the position of so many of my friends, as enlightened, outnumbered, and outspoken people from towns rife with bigotry, ignorance and hate. I can make more of a difference in Texas than I can by running away to be with like minded people in California or Europe.

I'm not going to run away or give up on my home so easily, and if anything I am more committed to being the change, not just rooting for it.

Prev - Next