- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

International house of disillusionment
2002-05-03-7:30 a.m.

Ahhhh. Friday. Nothing is better than Friday, except payday-Friday. Wads of cash and a few days off with no obligations.

Speaking of wads of cash, my younger brother Jason got the job he's been looking for yesterday. He's really busted his ass to get this job, so I'm really proud of him. He has an associates degree in process engineering, and he's going to be an operator at a chemical refinery in a nearby town. The job starts out at 18 dollars an hour, which to someone who's as good with money as my brother, is more than enough. I think he'll move up quick though as he's one of those people who's always at work early every day.

In other Ronnie-related news, I think I was stood up again last night. The girl I planned on going out with for 2 nights in a row has flaked on me twice, which is no big deal, although last night she didn't bother to call. That's sort of a pet-peeve of mine, because I don't care if someone doesn't want to hang out with me, just call and tell me rather than me waste another perfectly good night waiting for you. That's not an irrational request.

I don't care if someone calls me up and says "I dont' want to hang with you, you stink and you're too loud." or something. Because at least that gives me a chance to call up one of my other friends to hang out with my stinky, loud self.

I ended up joining my mom and her friends for drinks and to meet some girl who she thought I should meet. She was cute, really smart and seemed pretty cool, but she's too young for me. And it's not that I'm "age-ist", because she seemed a lot more together than the girls my age that I meet, but people talk you know. I also talked with Steve about motorcycles and had one too many Dr. Peppers. Then when that broke up I stopped by Legends on the way back to bullshit with Deck and sit at the bar drinking more Dr. Pepper and smoking way to many damn cigarettes. Sometimes it's nice to just sit and not have to think though. Sometimes.

And finally, plans for today are to go see "Spider-Man", and pack for the trip tomorrow. Jerry and I are leaving for Austin at 7 a.m. and getting a hotel room for the night. We're meeting our ex-philosophy professor Charles for drinks and discussion of complicated philosophical and moral dilemas etc... But we'll probably just end up talking about women, which is the only thing that truly confounds us anyway.

I'm sorta tossing around the idea of picking up Lindsay from school to join us, as she goes to college in Austin and we rarely get a chance to hang out. But I don't want to have her feel like the fourth wheel and the other guys to feel uncomfortable expressing their opinion around a stranger. On the other hand, I think Lindsay would really enjoy a conversation on this level, and that Charles and Jerry would warm to her pretty quickly. I know I may seem over-analytical about this, but keep in mind Jerry and I are driving a couple hundred miles just to sit and talk all day.

Just further proof that no matter how cool I may seem, I'm really just a nerd. Which I think is a compliment anyway. I started out as one, and you can never get too far from your roots no matter how hard you try.

I guess it's time to head out and take care of the mundane, simple, yet somehow-mysterious-to-everyone-else tasks that constitute my job. The "international society of roofing contractors" is meeting in our convention center today. Yep, all the big movers and shakers in the roofing industry today will be right here in our town! Why am I thinking that the "international" part is just a bunch of bullshit? I'm guessing there won't be any Jamaican or Finnish roofers here. That would be interesting though, right next to shingle and tar roof displays from Dallas and Phoenix there would be thatched roofs from Chile and some eskimo trying to keep his igloo from melting. But yeah, somehow I doubt that.

Prev - Next