- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

ducking a suckerpunch from fate
2003-01-22-7:05 p.m.

In case anyone doesn't read this entry in it's entirety, I think I should mention my song of the week first. It's a new (to me at least, maybe not newly released) song I found by Alkaline Trio, called "Queen of Pain". The guitar part is catchy, and it's reasonably paced, and has, what I would consider to be, original and novel lyrics. I've always liked their stuff, but recently I've just started listening to them again.

As for business: Today wasn't so hot. It all started after work yesterday, when my rear brakes finally went out completely. It was too late to get any parts, so I had to drive my van to work today. It runs pretty well, but it's just really rough around the edges, and I don't exactly have insurance on it, so I don't usually drive it.

Of course, the rear tire was recently patched, and although I made it *to* work, it was hissing out air pretty badly when I pulled into the parking garage. So on my lunch break, I made up some bullshit reason why I needed to borrow a truck from the shop, went to Wal-mart to buy some fix-a-flat, which didn't work that well. I could have probably made it home, but I just put on the spare to be on the safe side, which takes forever because it's a 3/4 ton and has 8 really long-winded lugnuts that were on there pretty good.

I told myself that if I made it home, I'd pass my house right up and head to the corner store to pick up a few beers, which I am enjoying now, thank you very much. I know I'm on a diet, but it's light beer, and I'm skipping dinner, so it should all average out, and I should get an even better buzz since I'm not eating.

Well, I'm tired of being on the computer, and I'm getting all amped up like I usually do when I drink and listen to good music, so I'm going to find something to do.

Prev - Next