- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

ownage over breakage
2003-01-24-2:29 p.m.

I just copied this entry from my post on my car clubs message board. It is entirely car related, but it's what I did all day yesterday, other than clean my room and organize my music collection.

Yep, the Silver Bullet thought it had me beat with that locked up brake piston, but I took the day off work, and replaced the rear drivers side pads again (34 bucks for a rear set at BAP GEON), had the rotor turned for 8 bucks at Oreillys, and even had time to go back to BAP to get some NGK plug's for 5 bucks each.

I had about 90k on my original plugs, and this definetly made a noticable difference. Changing the plugs is a PITA on the 2.0 though because the manifold crosses right over them. If you disconnect and move a lot of the crap out of the way though, it's not so bad. It also would have helped if it wasn't 40 degrees outside, or if I had had some swivel sockets.

I bedded the new brakes carefully, then drove around to see if the problem would come back, but so far everything seems okay. If worse comes to worse though, Potterman said he can get me the rear caliper for like $150.

It did give me an excuse to pimp around hustling parts in my child molester van though, which is always an adventure.

Prev - Next