- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

ramble on...
2003-01-21-3:32 p.m.

A couple of things I've been meaning to mention:

On my way to work, there is this van parked off the side of a hwy in an empty lot. It's black with spray painted lettering all over it, advertising "Big Boy's Tire and Wheel". And as if a badly spray painted rusty old van was not enough of an indicator as to the quality of this establishment, it has two flat tires! Seriously. A tire place. You'd think...

I really have too much spare time at work. At one time, I didn't know if I would ever be able to hack this job. Now though, it's so easy, it's ridiculous. I could do all my work in about 90 minutes a day, but I like to spread it out so I don't get too bored.

I bought a book of crossword puzzles to do, and I always have some sort of magazine or non-fiction book to read. And I'm really very up on current events, since I read all the news wires every morning. I also chat on my car clubs message boards quite a bit, although I very rarely use any type of instant messaging programs. I feel they just waste too much time.

I'm also studying for a few CLEP tests, since you can test out of 6 college courses, and I haven't taken any of the tests. I'm also drawing again, and getting pretty good at online chess.

So I figure, if I don't get a new job right away, things aren't really that bad here. I have the rest of my life to bust my ass and work hard at my career. The economy is in the can right now, so I'm just thankful I even have a decent job.

Once I get a decent job that pays well though, I'm saving all the cash I can to start my own business. I've got 2 really good ideas, and they don't require a lot of startup capital anyway.

My damned car is also in bad need of some work. I just did the rear brakes a few months ago, but now the fronts are in need of replacement, plus I need to change my belts and get an alignment. I'm driving a lot less now though, since I'm not heading up to see Paige and I found a way to work that shaves 10 miles off my daily commute, although it takes about 10 minutes longer each way.

You know what? I'm thinking I'm so mellow and peaceful lately because I've been getting enough sleep again, and reading all this Buddhist philosophy. I still listen to loud rock music on the way to work everyday and drive like hell, but I'm just more content lately. Nothin' wrong with that.

I also have a very clear picture of my future. I know what kind of job I want, what kind of car I want, where I want to live, what things I want to do, everything. It's nice to know what you want and to work towards it. I have a million ideas and a million goals, and I don't think I'll get them all before I die, but I don't need to. I think I need to make a list though. Don't worry, I won't bore everyone anymore today, I'm making myself sick with all this rambling.

Prev - Next