- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

it's not quite singing, but it is praise none the less.
2002-03-26-11:52 a.m.

"I SING the body electric,

The armies of those I love engirth me and I engirth them,

They will not let me off till I go with them, respond to them,

And discorrupt them, and charge them full with the charge of the

soul."

Walt Whitman was a bad motherfucker.

"This is the female form,

A divine nimbus exhales from it from head to foot,

It attracts with fierce undeniable attraction,

I am drawn by its breath as if I were no more than a helpless vapor,

all falls aside but myself and it,

Books, art, religion, time, the visible and solid earth, and what

was expected of heaven or fear'd of hell, are now consumed,"

He appreciated women too.

"Has any one supposed it lucky to be born?

I hasten to inform him or her it is just as lucky to die, and I know it."

And he wasn't afraid of death. Here is even better proof:

" too am not a bit tamed, I too am untranslatable,

I sound my barbaric yaws over the roofs of the world...

I bequeath myself to the dirt to grow from the grass I love,

If you want me again look for me under your boot-soles.

He is literally saying that he knows he will die, and that someone will read this and want to meet him. If you want to do so, just look around, he'd dead, he's part of the world again, he's turned back to dirt and is in the tread of your shoes.

Does anyone know what it means to be totally ok with that? THAT, is peaceful understanding. THAT, is the afterlife. Growing back in a blade of grass and riding a wave into the sea, in a gulls eye over the water, in rain in the jungle, in a building cornerstone in times square, in a garden in london.

Fuck me I hope one person gets this and doesn't just dismiss it as an attempt at depth. Fuck youif you don't, I have no use for you.

Prev - Next