- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!
2003-04-25-9:36 p.m.

Phew. Damn, it's been a week.

I've been meaning to update, really I have, it's just that I've been busy. No baby, there's no other diary, you're the only one for me. You can trust me on that.

So all kidding aside, the long and short of it is:

I GOT THE DAMN JOB!!!

Yes, the goal that I've had for so long, the thing I've probably mentioned in a hundred entries over the last two years finally happened. And it only took me a year, 3 interviews, a physical, a drug test, and a driving record/credit check/background check to get it.

I don't know how much about this new job I've mentioned, but I'll give out the quick details. I'll be installing computer systems and cabling in operating rooms. It's in the Houston area, which means no driving to that god-forsaken island anymore, and no more 100 mile round trips between the office and a decent restaurant or Chucks house. The job pays nearly double what I'm making now. And it also includes everything else I need. Every time I ask them something, they tell me it's already been taken care of.

I have to use my own vehicle for travel and hauling equipment. Not a problem, (and this is the sweetest thing about this new job) because they provide a monthly stipend of almost $400 a month for that.

Using my cell phone to do business during the day? No problem, a new cell phone has already been ordered for me, and they pick up the bill.

Thinking about buying a PDA or a laptop to keep track of things? My new IBM Thinkpad will be ready for me when I arrive in Rochester.

And what about getting there in the first place? Well the plane tickets, hotel, and shuttle service will all be arranged.

It's like I have a real job, with real benefits, and real pay and everything. It's insane.

So let's add all this up, shall we? I'm making an extra 8 dollars an hour, I no longer have a cell phone bill, I'll barely have a car note, my insurance bill is about to be halved, because I'm turning 25 in a few months, my gas bill will be halved, as will the cost of tires, brakes, oil changes etc... as I lessen my commute, and I pick up an extra 2 hours each day, since I'll save one hour in drive time every day, and one hour since I don't have to clock out for my lunch break.

Next time on Ronnies diary: Vote and help me narrow down what new car/truck I get. Damn I rock. Are you jealous? If I were you, I'd be jealous.

Prev - Next