- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

I'm breathing a little better now
2003-04-03-1:14 p.m.

I've been a little busy, and feeling great. The main thing I have on the horizon is the new job situation.

I interviewed on Saturday with this company my cousin works for, to do I.T. work, and I guess it went okay, but I wouldn't say great. The guy I interviewed with was really strange from an interviewing standpoint, and oddly unattentive to the responses to the questions he asked me. I still may have the job, I could definetly do everything they're asking for with my hands tied behind my back.

I've also been contacted about a job I applied for a long while ago, for this company based in Sweden I'd be working in the Houston area, in the medical center mostly, installing and supporting computer video systems for operating rooms. I know it sounds boring, but the rest of the deal is great.

The pay is about 15 thousand a year more than I make now, great benefits package, they'll pay for my cell phone, my toll-booth pass, it's a stable company, they pay for all my travel, overtime etc... if needed.

The only downside to this job would be the need to go to training in Rochester, NY for 6 weeks.

First off, I don't like flying on planes, I don't like the cold, and I don't like being stuck away from civilization, all of which I'll be going through. (Rochester is upstate, near the canadian border, and almost 300 miles from beautiful NYC). I'm hoping maybe I can catch a train and hang out with Joann one weekend while I'm up there.

But this would finally allow me to take a step forward in my life, and the sacrifices seem small when compared to the rewards.

I can finally afford to buy things when I need them, to join a gym, to put some money away for savings, to buy myself a damn motorcycle and get my '69 bug restored, buy some gear and go camping, take some trips or mini vacations, take Paige out someplace nice to eat, and even *gasp* get my own place with my own garage that I can keep as neat and as fully stocked as I like.

This week, I've spent every day after work being very productive:

I pulled out the interior of my bug to replace the carpet. This meant removing the seats (just 2 screws, 2 bolts and the airbag connection), the shifter, armrest, center console, cupholders, door sills and the carpet.

Then I parked at the seawall the next day during my lunch break and cleaned every bit of it and polished everything up. Then I went home and put in the new carpet 2 nights ago, and scrubbed the carpet and seats, and last night I put everything back together.

Tonight I'm planning on pulling off my front grill, fixing the crack in the middle, sanding it and painting it to match my car, and trying to figure out why my foglights aren't working.

And this weekend, Paige is coming down, so I plan on going to the movies, going out to dinner, relaxing, and having lots of sex. Yay for all that.

Prev - Next