- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

obvious realization
2001-11-12-8:07 a.m.

What can I say, things are sorta bland right now, but by no means bad. I've found that I can change and effect a lot, but the most persistant thing is my attitude, my habits, they're hard to change. Sorta like a pair of scissors cutting themself, or a mirror looking at itself, it's hard to use you against you, so to speak.

I'll try to reason with myself, to take more risks, to do more, faster, to push myself to the next level as I know I should. But after looking at it, I see that reasoning with myself isn't the way. (Reason is rarely the way, even though the world would be better if it was.) Action is the way of the world, and I'm more than capable of acting.

So I can't think of reasons why I should do things, only that I should do them, and act immediately. Ever wonder why the world can be so much fun when you're drunk? Because you abandon rationality, and you couldn't care less about consequences, you just DO. You shouldn't completely abandon rationality or the thought of consequences, but I think many of us, myself included, put too much stock in it, and rely on it so much that it actually hurts us. The thing to do is to just act the way you want to, just for a day or a week, and you'll see that it works, or you'll form a new habit.

The more I think about it, the more I think that attitude is more important than ability.

The weight of my goals is sitting too heavy on my shoulders, it's making it hard for me to breathe. I've got to throw them off, and either complete them, or forget about them.

The only thing standing in my way is a me. I know this sounds a bit cliche, and sort of like a self help lecture, and I won't turn around my life in one day. Or will I?

--
Ronnie

Prev - Next