- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

you got knocked the fuck out
2002-06-10-11:18 a.m.

Whew, I'm sleepy. I've been crashing at Michelles a lot, and even though she's smart and says I should go to bed and quit bothering her, I never go to bed at a decent hour. And I have to leave her place at 6 a.m. and drive straight to work to make it here by 7. This week alone I put 700 miles on my car. That's 11.6 hours of driving assuming I averaged 60 mph. And I worked 53 hours. Oh well, I can use the extra money.

As for the rest of the weekend, lets see...

Well, it's fairly obvious that I got drunk on Friday. After my entry, I got bored and I went to "Chick-Fil-A" (It's as lame as it sounds kids, the place is so tacky it's funny) and ran into Paige. I asked her what she was doing and she said she was just going home for the night. She ended up calling me just as I was pulling into my driveway though, and said she changed her mind about going home, so we decided we were both tired and we just watched some movies. She'd never seen "I'm Gonna Get You Sucka", which I thought was an error that had to be corrected immediately, and we also watched "Happy Gilmore" which I hadn't seen since it came out.

I keep forgetting she's only 18 because of how intelligent she is. We also have the most compatible senses of humor I've ever found in a girl. I decided that us laying together and watching a movie isn't too creepy, but that's it as far as it goes. Besides, her mom and my mom are best friends, and that just makes the whole thing weird.

Oh I also forgot to mention why I got so drunk. I hadn't eaten any dinner, and Rodney and I were going to go somewhere to eat, when there was a knock on the door. It was these two little girls, like 4 and 6, and when I opened the door they said "Is Mr. Rodney here?" and I said "Yeah, do you want to come in and talk to him?" They said, "No, just tell him my mom wants to talk to him." I say ok, and they bolt off like only children who are ready to get back to playing outside can do.

So Rodney went over to talk to her, and at first she just asked for a cigarette, but I later found out that her husband has just left her a few minutes before, running off apparently to get married to the lady he's been having an affair with. Sad, but nothing out of the ordinary, until you consider the fact that it was with his brothers wife. That is just wrong on so many levels. Well as you may have guessed, this guy is no winner. I always refer to him as "drunken goldfish guy" because he's always coming by when we're in the garage or whatever, and he always has his work cover-alls on, a tall can of cheap domestic in one hand, and a bag of goldfish crackers in the other. He's always ducking his wife, and if I was him and I was a drunk moron with a rapidly developing gut and a hot wife, I sure as hell wouldn't be avoiding her.

So I sat inside downloading music and playing Tony Hawk and enjoying the hell out of some drinks as Rodney spent about 2 hours listening to her and generally being a nice guy. As nice as any guy with a hot blonde 28 year old neighbor would be if her husband had ran off and she just needed someone to talk to. ;-)

So on saturday I went over to Paige's and her mom was having people over for a picnic, my mom and my little brother were there, and Cathy and Steve, so it was a good chance to see everyone without driving too far. And also a good chance to get free beer and hamburgers. It's nice that my little brother doesn't get on my nerves so much when I don't have to see him every single day.

After that, Paige went with me back to my house to change, and Rodney followed us up to houston on his motorcycle which he just had a new motor put in. (BTW he's really trying to sell it, he's only asking 1700 for it, but it's just a 250cc so its not quick, but its a good learner bike.)

First off we went to the "haircut place of death" as I like to call it, because it's only 2.99 for haircuts and they do a great job. Rodney and Paige were very impressed, although Paige did not opt for a haircut at that time.

Then we called around to all the dubspeed crew and tried to find out where everyone was watching the fight. After a lot of driving around, we ended up at Marc's friend's place. I'd met these guys before, they're all BMW guys, but all the Euro fans have mutual respect for each other so it's all good.

This guy had a great setup, it was really a bunch of townhomes, and everyone in his building and across the little driveway was out and it was like a block party. He brought his BIG screen tv out into the garage and had lawn chairs and recliners setup, and across the way they had a pool table and darts setup in the garage.

As I'm sure anyone who has any interest in it has already heard, the fight was great and I really enjoyed it. Tyson wasn't at his best, but even if he was, he's never going to be the bad-ass that he was 10 or 15 years ago. I still can't think of anyone else tough enough to take that many direct punches to the face from a guy as big as Lennox Lewis and still keep standing for as long as he did. He's a tough mo'fo', but Lewis just had 13 inches more of reach, and Tyson didn't have the energy or the hate that he has had in previous matches. I was very pleased to see how respectful and nice he was after the fight too.

I guess that about wraps up my weekend. Lindsay and I are hanging out tonight which is great because I haven't even talked to her in a few weeks because she's working as a waitress on night shifts now, and for the rest of the summer, trying to save up money to buy a GTI. (Damn straight) I also HAVE to redo my brakes tomorrow after work as they're going to gouge my rotors soon if I don't.

Thanks for reading the small novel kids, I'm off to lunch.

Prev - Next