- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

a strange lesson
2001-09-04-3:18 p.m.

I'd say that I'll do a more thorough, entertaining update later, because I'm busy at work, but then again I always say that.

So it's been the same shit, different day for some time now. The trip went well, it was completely unplanned and so much the better for it. We didn't really DO anything to speak of, other than hang out and cover an amazing amount of distance in a short amount of time as usual.

When I got back home my house was disgusting, the water filter broke and water was shooting out, but my lazy mom and sister just let it be, so it was up to me to fix. At 4 a.m. By myself. Anyway I just crashed without showering, and woke up 4 hours later. Our entire house, the kitchen, the living room, the garage was a mess, I didn't even want to be there. There wasn't a single clean dish or glass. Sure I don't do much around the house, but then again, I'm never home. I leave at 6 a.m. and get back 12 hours later, only to leave again until 10 at night. I pay my rent and I do my share, I only expect others to have the common decency to do the same.

So after waking up completely I went to subway to get something to eat, then went by James to get a shower. Only his girlfriend was on the way and they were supposed to have this big talk, so I couldn't stay, so I just said fuck it I'm going home and I'm going to scream in everyones face until they get up and relieve themselves from their squalor. But one the way home I realized my dad was out of town, so I went by his house. He leaves a key so that if we ever need anything we can stop by. My dad, and everything he owns, is always amazingly neat. Almost unnervingly so. But right then thats just what I needed. My room is always sorta neat, but I have so much shit and so little space it's really difficult to keep it simple and uncluttered. But my dad's house, it's perfect. Never a dirty dish, never a full trashcan, always stocked with food. I guarantee you, even if I go over there right now, his glasses are arranged in sections, plastic, glass, mugs and shakers.

So other than the complete neatness, I'm not really unlike my dad. And that's not all together bad. He has a stereo, and I brought my cd's in and prepared to shower. I then suddenly remembered that he has a full weight set in his back room, with all kinds of great equipment (all free and bar weights, but thats all you need, machines are for wimps.) So I got in a great workout, doing all kinds of exercises I never get a chance to do. My dad also has nothing but tons of health food in his house, which to me is better than junkfood, so I ate, enjoyed some bottled water, and took a long shower. I watched tv (satellite) and made a list of all the shit I need(ed) to do today and in the coming days and weeks. Which was easy. Because my dad has a perfectly clean desk with pens and a clipboard right in his bedroom.

So I've learned something useful from my dad, believe it or not, even when he wasn't around. And I've realized that it's really time for me to move out of my house. I know my mom needs me and all that shit, but I can be of more help if my mind is straight and I have more money anyway.

I never set out with an idea, I just start typing and see what happens. So that's it, the most important lesson I've learned this week.

Whoever said money or things don't make you happy is lying to make themselves feel better, because they are poor. You need more than that, but you need that too.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next