- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

coffee, speed, speed, and punk rock.
2003-07-02-9:23 p.m.

I know I haven't updated in 12 days, but hey, I'm just not in a "diaryland mood" lately. (simply put: I haven't got the time to play on the internet lately)

I feel I should mention: The Most Important Thing I Have Going On Right Now

At least in terms of the whole "chronicle my life" point of this diary.

Every day I've got about an hour commute to the jobsite. It's mostly on the freeway and tollway, so it's mostly at 80 - 85 miles an hour. Every morning I stop and get a huge cup of coffee and 2 jalapeno kolaches from this place by my house. Then I drink the entire black coffee while hauling ass down the freeway for an hour, blaring punk music at ear-damaging levels. For about 2 weeks straight I was listening to nothing but AFI (the new cd and old stuff and a lot of B-side singles). Now it's branched out a bit into some old favorites like Bad Religion and Alkaline Trio and for some reason today, Bon Jovi.

But mostly it's just driving fast, lots of black coffee, and loud punk music. All that, coupled with the fact that I'm a morning person (no seriously) and that I'm well rested, and nobody has had time to do anything to piss me off yet, means that I'm in a GREAT mood when I show up for work every morning. It's the highlight of my week.

I know very few people would indentify themselves as "morning people". But for me, the morning is the time when the whole day's potential is laid out in front of you, and you can entertain thoughts of doing just about anything. Sure, the day may not materialize into everything you hoped, but who cares, because usually it's still been good enough. And even if it hasn't, by the time you reach the end, it's time to go to sleep, which is always easy enough to do and enjoyable for anyone, and then BAM!, it's the next day, and all the potential is there again.

See, this is why I don't update. No one wants to read about someone doing really well and looking forward to the next day every day. Oh well, too late now.

Prev - Next