- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

Yeah it's a Rant, but it's not for attention,it's to make a point.
2002-05-10-11:24 a.m.

Yeah, I rented "Black Knight" the other night. And I watched it. And I thought it was FUNNY, so you can all just kiss my ass.

No one would go to the movies to see it with me, so I had to rent it and watch it myself. No matter, it was enjoyable and dare I say it: Whimsical.

And don't give me shit about the premise being all whacked out. It never tried to be anything but a comedy.

And I don't want to hear a single groan either, because it's not like anyone who reads this only saw "The Royal Tennenabums" "Lord of the Rings" and "In the Bedroom" and therefore has the right to call themselves a movie snob.

Sure, "Black Knight" may have been a little hackneyed, it may have been slightly silly, but it's still far above crap like "Jason X" or "Scary Movie 2." Neither of which I watched mind you.

Why am I being such a crusader for this movie? I'll be the first to say that it's not a "10", it's about a 6. I'll say that it's not an "A" level movie, but it's a solid "B-". Everybody thought the previews were funny, but because it didn't hide it's premise or jokes, people were intent on acting like it was beneath them to go see it. All the while watching stuff that was truly unimaginative and crappy, like "The Real World" or "Malcomb in the Middle." (Talk about a predictable laughless exercise in mediocrity.)

Oh yeah, and I watched "The Tao of Steve" too, and it was great, really funny and very well filmed. The main character was the guy who played "Jimme the Cab Driver" on those MTV commercials a while back, but I didn't notice until after the movie when I looked at the extra stuff on the DVD.

Oh yeah, DVD's rule. I think there are still people that don't have a player, and I feel sorry for them because they miss out on so much.

Prev - Next