- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

How did I do? Well I won't be getting my own video game any time soon, I can tell you that.
2002-05-27-8:07 a.m.

I know later in the day I'd be more awake, and therefore more able to write a really good entry, but I may not get the chance, so we'll all just have to make due with this sub-par little offering. Yipee.

Explaining why I'm sleepy would actually be a lot easier if I just told the story of the last 48 hours in reverse.

It'll be more fun for me at least. Maybe I'll make a numbered list, only in reverse order... Yeah that will work.

19)Woke up at 5:30a.m.

18)Went to sleep at 12:30 a.m.

17)Dropped Paige off at her car. She really is adorable.

16)Jerry, Jerry, Scott and Sco dropped us off at my car.

15)We dropped David off at his truck.

14)We headed back downtown to where we had to park our cars.

13)I had a grilled cheese sandwich and broccoli casserole (a lot of cheese for one meal I say.) Jerry had chicken strips, the other Jerry had a hamburger, Scott had a chicken fried steak sandwich and a bud light, Sco had cheese fries, Paige had a grilled ham and cheese sandwich, and David had a huge bowl of fruit and a Heineken. It seemed like an odd combination, but he said it worked well together. He then dropped two strawberries and a blueberry into the Heineken. Paige commented that it was interesting that the blueberry sank and the strawberries floated. I asked Scott what he'd pay to be rid of his really reall bad sunburn, and he said 50, but not 100 bucks. I turned to Sco and he guessed my question, and just said "I'd be naked, homeless and in a ditch" in reference to what he would give up to be rid of his bad case of poison ivy. He also mentioned that he's now thinking of becoming a botanist so that he can invent a plant that makes poison ivy feel the same way that it makes people feel. This is a further continuation of his idea of creating a micro-mosquito that will be harmless to humans, but will annoy mosquitos as much as they do us. Here's to hoping he's successful on either of these fronts.

12)We drove around too long deciding on where to eat, Jerry pronounced me chief, and I declared we would eat at the 59 diner because it was a neat place I thought everyone should see, and it wasn't over-priced.

11)We decided to all just ride in the van and come back downtown to get our cars later.

10)We waited out on the sidewalk for Jerry and David to ride down one last time.

9)I get the biggest kick out of the whole deal while riding the elevator back up, because while you're doing it you don't have much time to enjoy it.

8)The last ride down was actually my worst of them all, I kept taking wrong turns and going down the wrong side and it was really slow, but at the end it was pretty fast, and at the last turn I had to bail off and run because I couldn't make it turn that sharp at that rate of speed. I never fell off my feet during any of the runs though, I just had to bail off and start running a few times. Although I was going so fast when I bailed that last time that my shoe stuck to the concrete but my feet kept going forward and my toe jammed against my shoe and now it's all swollen. Still not bad though, hell I've got 9 more.

7)I had a good ride down and only bailed once because I tried to take the turn too narrow.

6)I kept passing up David who was supposed to go in the front to show me the way down, because even though I was cutting back and forth, I was on the faster board and I probably outweigh him by 30 pounds.

5)I remember that I haven't seriously rode a skateboard since I was 15, and over a foot shorter and with a lot smaller feet. It's like a whole new deal.

4)I jump on at the top of the ramp and I'm glad I gave Jerry my phone in case I fall. I catch a little air-unintentionally-at the end of the first downhill slope because theres a hump I didn't notice to keep rain from running down.

3)We finally find the crew, they yell down to me from the top floor, they're all smiling and having fun and entergetic, I introduce them all to Paige.

2)We spend too much time driving around trying to find out which garage they are in, and cursing downtown houston. Not only is every street a one-way, but half of them are closed for construction, so sometimes it takes 4 blocks to be able to take a left or right or whatever.

1)Jerry calls me and asks if I want meet them and his brother in houston. Apparently the Enron parking garage is deserted and there is no security there on weekends. Wonder why? It's a brand new garage though, still clean and smooth concrete, and it even has elevators to ride back up in.

I also typed two entries this weekend on my laptop, but I haven't gotten it connected to the network in our house yet so I have to save them to disk and bring them up here, but I forgot the disk today. I'll post them tomorrow though.

"Sounds like somebody's got a case of the Mondays." You know it wouldn't be so bad if there wasn't such a stark contrast between life on weekdays, and on weekends. Mreh.

Prev - Next