- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

Yeahhhhhhhhh, Solid.
2002-06-07-4:26 p.m.

Not much time to type up a really thorough entry, so I'll just fill you in on the major points.

Before I get to the main point of this entry, I have a few quick things to say.

First, why haven't you seen "Undercover Brother" yet? Go right now and see it, it's money yo. Go on! This entry will still be here when you get back.

So you saw it? "Yeah, but that's some lonnnnng division." That was my favorite line of the movie.

I also think I should mention that I've been spending more time with Michelle, and that it's been really nice. She's just too cute, and she's fun to be around, and she also has some other good qualities that I'm not going to mention in an attempt to be a little bit more of a gentlemen. (At least in reference to her, because she appreciates that sort of thing.)

Oh, and I had an interesting conversation with Jonny yesterday where we talked about a wide range of topics ranging from my penis, independent film, and his nipples, to laundry and I think old tv cartoons or something. Just not in that order or anything. Anyway, it was odd because as much as girls would like to think we do, guys really don't often talk about their own genatalia, or the genatalia of any other guys for that matter. It's just, odd.

I came really close to quitting work this week, especially today. I had what was, to me at least, some major collisions with some of the people I work with, and by that I don't mean the typical stupid people in some of the other departments, I'm talking about department heads and people in my department, etc...

By keeping my cool and basically being right anyway, I managed to come out of all of these conflicts feeling like I got what I wanted, and in some cases as if I got more than I had expected. It's just further reassurance that not letting your emotions get the best of you is really the best way to get what you want in life.

After all was said and done though, I realized that the majority of the things I had been dealing with could have been avoided, if I'd had more effective leadership ahead of me. That meant that I had to go all the way up, to who people on project refer to as "God" around here, my boss, Mike.

Now, he's not a mean guy, and he's not unfair, but he's the kind of guy who stayed out here for 35 hours straight earlier this week, and who doesn't offer excuses often, and who tolerates them even less. The only problem he has is that he doesn't realize that not everyone loves their job as much as he does. (We call him Gung-Ho behind his back sometimes because he's an ex-marine and he hasn't let some of that stuff go.)

So by the time I managed to talk to him at the very last hour of the work week, the straw that broke the camels back has already been eaten by another camel, and that camel is lying, crippled, on the ground.

I basically went into his office with a very simple list written on the back of a work order. I need this and this by Monday, and I don't want this and this by Monday, or I will offer my resignation on Monday. Now, I didn't make those demands outright just like that, but I made sure that they were clearly stated.

I was suprised though, he didn't offer the slightest bit of argument, he listened to and agreed with everything I had to say, and I'm confident he wasn't pulling my leg or saying anything just to make me happy.

I didn't go in asking for more money, and I didn't want it. What I did want was either a reduction in my workload, or someone else to work either for or with me, which I got. It remains to be seen if it will be someone full time, or just someone already here who I'll teach to do some of my work, but either way, it's great. I also told him I wasn't going to use my car for work for any reason anymore, and he had no problem with that, although he said it would take him some time to find me something to drive, so I said to be fair I could give him some time next week to find something.

I also said that I refuse to work for the current supervisor, because I thought he was unprofessional, and I didn't respect him. He agreed and said I could work for John, who's basically just a friend of mine, and someone I actually enjoy working with anyway.

So although I think I dealt with things fairly, I shouldn't have put off bringing it up for as long as I did.

That said, there is one thing I am not going to put off, and that's getting the fuck out of here, and blowing off some steam. Yep kids, it's time for some whiskey, and some loud music.

Prev - Next