- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

stream of thoughts
2001-07-17-10:55 a.m.

Allright, I don't update for a week or more, and then I bust two in one day. Go figure. So if you didn't read the entry on apoligizing to women yet, go back and read it first.

I was reading my friend Majnoon's diary, and it made me think of some things I want to say here. BTW, I STILL don't know how to make a word a link, if anyone wants to tell me how, that would be great. In the meantime go to majnoon.diaryland.com and check it out. Jerry is a great guy, one of the most intelligent and mature people I know, and a good writer to boot. I really can't say enough good things about this guy.

At the moment, my favorite song is Alien Ant Farm's cover of "Smooth Criminal" by Michael Jackson. Just the right mix of kitsch (A 10 year old MJ song that I remember, but hadn't heard in a long time), good punk/hardcore sound, heavy guitar, etc...it's just a cool song. They have other good songs too, but we all know how great a cover song can be to break a band into the mainstream. It's a cool video too.

I'm getting fairly decent at playing pool. But hell, I play all the time.

I got the "Special Edition Chasing Amy DVD" in the mail last week. It has deleted scenes, commentary, and all that jazz. Funny fucking movie, I feel like I'm hanging with old friends when I watch it. All of Kevin Smith's stuff is good though.

My Passat works great now. I went out and got pissed and tackled it on saturday. So now I have two perfectly good functioning cars, and one not so functioning 69 bug. All still a work in progress of course. Reading the book "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance" has helped me in my mechanical endeavors. Not a great book from a zen or life level-philosophy perspective, but good on the automotive philosophy. Didn't think there was such a thing? Then you aren't a good mechanic. Actually any kind of maintenance, design, or customizing work must be approached with the proper mindset, just like playing golf or basketball or painting or any field of human endeavor.

Do you know what I want right now? I want to eat something. Then I'm going so smoke a cigarette, cruise around galveston a bit, and get back to work. Tonight, I hope to work out a bit and hang out with Lindsay. I really want to go to the movies, I haven't gone enough lately and there are a lot of things I want to see.

Just a temporary readjustment. My situation has changed, but I can't think it will stay this way forever, I gotta keep my discipline up. Need to take more chances really.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next