- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

An atheist, a preacher, and a no rabbi's.
2001-04-20-11:30 a.m.

Well, it's friday, and for the kids watching at home, I have a mon-fri 7 to 4 job. Friday is always exciting because I look forward to the weekends of course, and I try to pack too much into them. Anyone who knows me knows that I love to hurry around, doing things fast, and sorta doing things last minute/seat of the pants etc...

Today though I went to a funeral for a co worker. I wasn't really friends with him, but I knew him and had talked with him on several occasions. He died last week in a motorcycle accident, so it was obviously unexpected. This was a decidedly "black" funeral, and I have to say it was the best funeral I've ever been to. I don't like funerals, and if they have one for me when I die I will kick the shit out of whoever does it, because I want a wake, a celebration of my life, not any of this jesus crap, it's just not me. But for those it is for, this funeral was really a celebration of Christianity, which I like, and I still got a lot out of it. There was the traditional readings from the bible etc... But two of his family members also perfomed solos from the pulpit, and many of his friends and family stood up to speak about him. There was the traditional "AMEN!" coming from the crowd, great singing by the soloists, and a good sermon from the preacher. Like I said, church just isn't for me, but I feel like if you go to church, you *should* be charismatic, it should be something you feel very passionately about, and I enjoyed the charismatic nature of the service more than anything.

You know how some people say "I'm not religious, but I'm very spiritual"? What-the-fuck is that supposed to mean? I bet if you ask them they won't be able to tell you. I'm neither religious, or spiritual. Since I neither like repeating things over and over again and following convention and tradition as a means to being closer to god. (What religion means by definition). Nor do I believe in "spirits" or even *A* "spirit". Yeah I have my ideas about what happens when we die and the meaning of life and all that good shit, who doesn't? Believe whatever you want, whatever makes you a good person is fine with me, buddist, atheist, christian, but for god's sake STAND BEHIND IT with everything you've got and fucking live your life like you believe it. Don't just say you are something because it sounds cool to say or is easier to say. And sure as hell don't say you're what your parents are just because you haven't given it any thought. Give it some fucking thought, it's the most important thing you can think about, it should define your life and your every movement.

*Climbs off pulpit*

Gotta get back to work.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next