- Newest - older - Profile - Contact -

wal-mart
2001-09-14-2:27 p.m.

You know, after spending a few hours playing with the layout of your page, you don't always have a lot of uumph left for actually updating the *substance* of the page. And it's 2:30 and I'm in that hazy, sluggish after lunch slump that always hits. Mexicans have it right man, the mid-day nap is where it's at.

You know what I do want to say though? Why is it that those bastards at wal-mart who randomly check your receipts always have to make you feel guilty as you walk out the door?

You just paid for your stuff and you are trekking towards the automated door, aching to get away from the screaming bad children and the enormously fat women, and you have to decide what makes you look less guilty, staring straight ahead, or making eye contact with them and giving a fake smile? Of course you could just walk up and show them the receipt, but then they either wave you off like it's no bother, or spend 5 minutes looking at the receipt and your stuff.

And I doubt they compare the two with any accuracy, they just want you to think they are. I'm sure you could have a reciept with a lawnmower and an entertainment center written on it, and have some shampoo and laundry detergent in your bag, and they wouldn't notice.

Why should I have to stop everytime I walk by, or have to worry about them stopping me every damn time I go to wal-mart? Is this really a thorough crime prevention method?

Hell no, because I steal shit from Wal-mart all the time and when I do I don't have a bag in my hand, just some small but expensive thing in my pocket. And please don't give me any crap about how it's so wrong to steal because wal-mart isn't exactly standing on moral highground by driving out small businesses, censoring music, selling guns, and employing child labor in other countries either. And you'd steal if you had the balls or thought you could get away with it.

Jesus I'm a confrontational dick this week aren't I? I'm sure it will pass, and it's all very tongue-in-cheek anyway.

--

Ronnie

Prev - Next